Second DUI in San Diego
Prior conviction of driving under the influence (DUI) may result in much stronger penalties for a second offense. Attorneys at San Diego DUI Attorney have the experience and knowledge to help you avoid a felony conviction. We specialize in DUI and criminal defense and offer a free initial consultation to discuss your options for a second DUI arrest.
Second DUI: Penalties under California law
Any arrest for DUI within 10 years of a first DUI conviction is considered a second offense. Penalties for second DUI in California fall into two separate categories, administrative and criminal.
- Administrative penalties may include:
- The suspension of your driver’s license by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
- The suspension may be a minimum of one year and a maximum of two years.
- Criminal penalties may include:
- Between 90 days and one year in jail, which may be reduced via work service.
- Fines totaling between $390 and $1000.
- Three to five years of probation and/or mandatory attendance at DUI school for 18 months.
DUI and criminal defense law
The experienced criminal defense attorneys at San Diego DUI Attorney may help you avoid the potential penalties following a second DUI arrest. The lawyers at San Diego DUI Attorney specialize in DUI and Criminal Defense Law, serving clients in San Diego, Vista, El Cajon, Oceanside, Chula Vista and other San Diego County communities.
Contact our office today at 619-535-7150 for a FREE DUI consultation.